Oceanside RCMP SSgt. Marc Pelletier presents the Best Dress and Deportment trophy to 169 Admiral Yanow Navy League Cadet Ben Klein-Beekman during the cadets’ year-end review at Parksville Elementary School Sunday, June 11, 2017. — J.R. Rardon photo

Parksville-area Navy League Cadets make waves

Admiral Yanow chapter hosts year-end review with awards, skits

Members of the 169 Admiral Yano Navy League Cadet chapter shared some of their achievements of the past year while being honoured with several awards at their annual year-end review this month in Parksville.

The June 11 review, held in the old Parksville Elementary School gymnasium, was attended by Lieutenant Commander Erik Landstrom of the Canadian Forces Maritime Experimental and Test Ranges in Nanoose Bay, chapter leader S/Lt. Shannon Pennington, Parksville councillor Mary Beil, Oceanside RCMP Staff Sgt. Marc Pelletier and other Canadian Forces and Canadian Legion dignitaries.

The cadets, ranging from 9-12 years, performed a series of skits showcasing a first-aid call and rescue, the history of communications methods ranging from smoke signals and carrier pigeons to modern digital devices and the internet, and a “Hockey Night in Canada” drill-team routine with hockey sticks taking the place of rifles.

The cadets were addressed by Landstrom, Pennington and Vancouver Island Division president Brett Anderson. Graduating cadets, many of whom will be moving on to participate in the Sea Cadet or Air Cadet programs, were given special recognition at the end of the ceremony, attended by dozens of family members, friends and well-wishers.

A number of awards were handed out to individuals, as well as the team Cock of the Walk trophy for best section, to petty officer Ben Klein-Beekman, leading cadet Victoria Johnson, able cadets Kenneth Clifford, Brodie McDonald and Cole Hamilton.

Individual award-winners were:

Best senior cadet: Chief Petty Officer 2nd Class Haley Maury. Best second-year cadet: Petty Officer 2nd Class Noah Nelson. Best first-year cadet: Hamilton. Most improved cadet: Clifford. Best effort of improvement: Johnson. Best dress and deportment: Klein-Beekman. Best drill team cadet: Nelson. Best marksmanship: Chief Petty Officer 1st Class Eric Kittmer. Best attendance: McDonald. Outstanding attendance: Kittmer and Nelson.

Citizenship Award: Kittmer and Nelson.

Division President’s Award: McDonald.

Just Posted

Drunk driver ticketed after wrong-way rollover

Nanaimo man crashes on Inland Island Highway near Qualicum Beach

Car fire on Hwy. 19 near Nanoose slowing traffic

Fire has been put out, and the car has been removed

Bowser woman recovering from stabbing wounds

Police arrest 22-year-old male suspect in Nov. 14 incident

SOS marks 50 years of Christmas giving in Parksville Qualicum Beach

Society to mark golden anniversary with series of events in 2018

Homeless society unveils community care mobile in Parksville

Health care items, advice to be dispensed from RV

VIDEO: Clay throwing demonstration

Local potter giving demos during annual sale

‘I will now live in consistent fear’: Allan Schoenborn granted escorted leaves

The Merritt man was deemed not criminally responsible in the killing of his three children in 2008

Hammy the deer dodges conservation officers in Prince Rupert

The famous Prince Rupert hammock deer maintains his purple threads

‘No shirt, no service, no Canada’

Shirtless Tacoma man arrested after Canadian border officials say they found meth in rental vehicle

Nasty note on B.C. windshield sparks online outrage

Vernon’s Bailey McDonald is using a painful experience to start conversation about invisible illness

Port Alberni resident robbed with weapon, thieves steal thousands

Most of the stolen currency is in Canadian $100 bills. The police investigation is ongoing.

Federal funding to combat guns, gangs and opioid crisis

Public Safety Minister Ralph Goodale said illicit drugs are often main cause of guns, gangs violence

Riverview youth mental health centre proceeds

Replacement for Maples Treatment Centre first announced in March

Dead boy’s father posts Facebook response after Appeal Court upholds conviction

David, Collet Stephan were found guilty in their son Ezekiel’s 2012 death from bacterial meningitis

Most Read