Award winners from Ballenas Secondary School at a Model UN conference in Shawnigan Lake on Oct. 29, 2019. - submitted photo

Award winners from Ballenas Secondary School at a Model UN conference in Shawnigan Lake on Oct. 29, 2019. - submitted photo

Fourteen students from Ballenas recognized at Model UN conference

Conference was based around UN sustainable development goals

Fourteen students from Ballenas Secondary School were recognized for their achievements at a recent Model United Nations conference in Shawnigan Lake.

The conference was based around UN sustainable development goals, and students offered possible solutions from the countries they were chosen to represent.

The Model United Nations club has been offered at Ballenas since 2014, and was turned into a credited class in 2018. Olivia Hill, a teacher at Ballenas who took the students to the conference, described the program as: “an academic activity that simulates the debate, political discourse, and diplomacy found in the United Nations.”

Hill said she’s especially proud of Alena Pawelko’s award for best research — it was the Grade 8 student’s first conference.

“I think I learned more about what it is and what an impact the UN in general makes on the world and in different countries and I learned so much,” said Pawelko about the experience. “I love politics and talking about different countries and how they interact and saying different opinions and debating, so I thought this was a great idea.”

READ MORE: Parksville school’s Model UN club turned into credited class

Ramsay Locke, who is in Grade 10, took home the gold award for best delegate while representing Pakistan and the UN’s goal of peace, justice and strong institutions.

“I always love to debate about countries and what they do and the things that happen within borders and to create peace within the countries,” he said. “It was a bit difficult for me to state my point, but I kind of played the victim and I worked in creating peace with other nations.”

Other winners include: Lucy Feng for best research; Madison Dabbs and Norah Kierulf for outstanding delegate in silver and Rubén Mohabeer-Ortiz, Karol Lucero, Sarah Mar, Mika Bakker, Ben Noel, Parker Rietzal, Jade Vincent-Kelly, Alyx Luch, and Camille Dodman for honourable mention in bronze.

The next move for the club is in February, when they’ll go to Vancouver for the largest overnight model UN conference in B.C.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter 

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

A 26-foot recreational vehicle was stolen from a Qualicum Beach property early Wednesday morning, April 21. Police found the stolen vehicle nearly three hours later in Whiskey Creek. (Facebook photo)
RCMP act quickly after RV brazenly stolen from Qualicum Beach property

Vehicle recovered, 28-year-old man taken into custody

A screenshot taken from the Parksville city council meeting on Monday, April 19, where members of the Friends of the Parksville Community Centre presented the results of an ongoing online petition. Parksville city council is shown top left, David Todtman is shown top right, and Valerie Dare is shown at the bottom. (Via Youtube)
Friends of the Parksville Community Centre members present online petition to city council

Nearly 2,600 signatures collected in bid to keep facility as community gathering place

The scene of a single-vehicle crash along Dolphin Drive in Nanoose Bay on Monday morning, April 19. (Mandy Moraes photo)
RCMP: No injuries reported in rollover crash in Nanoose Bay

Police say passengers indicate driver left the scene

A large crowd protested against COVID-19 measures at Sunset Beach in Vancouver on Tuesday, April 20, 2021. (Snapchat)
VIDEO: Large, police-patrolled crowds gather at Vancouver beach for COVID protests

Vancouver police said they patrolled the area and monitored all gatherings

(File photo)
COVID-19: Emergency Management Oceanside issues latest update

Previous provincial health order extended for five weeks until May 24

A teacher-librarian in Nanaimo was fired in 2019 for checking out an age-inappropriate graphic novel to a student. The discipline agreement was published Wednesday, April 21. (News Bulletin file photo)
Nanaimo teacher-librarian fired for checking out too-graphic graphic novel to student

Teacher had been previously disciplined and suspended on two occasions

Aria Pendak Jefferson cuddles ChiChi, the family cat that ran away two years ago in Ucluelet. The feline was missing until Courtney Johnson and Barry Edge discovered her in the parking lot of the Canadian Princess earlier this month. Aria and her parents were reunited with ChiChi in a parking lot in Port Alberni. (SUSAN QUINN/ Alberni Valley News)
An Island girl’s wish is answered as her cat came back

Courtenay family reunited with cat that went missing in Ucluelet in 2019

Vancouver Island Connector and Tofino Bus is putting a 41-passenger electric bus through its paces in a three-month trial run between Nanaimo and Victoria. (Photo submitted)
Electric bus on trial run serving Victoria-to-Nanaimo route

Vancouver Island Connector and Tofino Bus trying out 41-seat electric coach for three months

The Coastal Fire Centre is looking ahead to the wildfire season on Vancouver Island. (Phil McLachlan – Western News)
Coastal Fire Centre looking ahead at wildfire season on Vancouver Island

‘We’re asking people in the spring to be very careful’

There are lots of resources for seniors looking for information about COVID-19. (Kevin Rothbauer/Citizen)
COVID questions? Here are some phone-based resources available for seniors

Here is a list of numbers to keep on hand for Vancouver Islanders who aren’t fond of computers

Chum Salmon fry being examined with multiple motile and attached sea lice on Vargas Island. (Cedar Coast Field Station photo)
Study: Tofino fish farm sea lice infestations add fuel to push to remove open pens

Ahousaht First Nation asking for higher standards than what DFO requires

FILE – The Instagram app is shown on an iPhone in Toronto on Monday, March 19, 2018. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Graeme Roy
Judge acquits B.C. teen boy ‘set up’ on sex assault charge based on Instagram messages

The girl and her friends did not have ‘good intentions’ towards the accused, judge says

Most Read