A soggy ladies’ golf championship

Susan Paterson wins fifth straight title to earn a course record amid a lot of good golf

QBMGC's Marilyn Roney takes a practice swipe prior to the start of last week's club championship where she went on to win Flight A Low Gross honours.

Cool wet conditions may have translated into slightly higher scores, but it didn’t dampen the spirits of the 32 golfers who turned out to Qualicum Beach Memorial Golf Club last Wednesday for the third and final round of the 2013 Ladies 18 Hole Division Club Championship.

“It was a good turnout considering the weather. It was just really wet conditions and everyone complained their scores were higher than they’re used to, but we still had a good time, we always do,” longtime ‘18 holer’ Kathy Lennox said after.

In the end, Susan Paterson clinched the title for a club record fifth straight year with a three-round total of 275, and Angie Goodman was right behind at 276 for runner-up.

“It’s pretty impressive,” Lennox said of Paterson’s run.

The three rounds were played out Sept. 18, 23 and 25.

Paterson started the final round two shots back of the leaders — there were three players tied for first place — and fired an 87 on the final round to clinch the win.

Paterson, 62, has been a member of the club since 2006, and concedes she brought her game face to the soggy greens that final round.

“I did. I had to work to get that score,” she chuckled.

“I have no idea,” she said when asked her secret to success. “You just relax and enjoy the ladies you’re playing with. It’s a great group of ladies. It’s a great club.”

Asked if she felt like she was out there with a target on her back, Paterson laughed and said “oh yeah. Some of them were saying after that they’ll be out to get me next year, actually I think they were out to get me this year.”

One of the oldest tournaments in these parts, Lennox says the tournament trophy was first won by Ruby Crowley in 1955. Along the way, Margaret Thompson won the title a record 10 times staring in 1986.


Mikey Aylesworth won the Low Net competition with Jill Green runner-up.

Marilyn Roney and Charlotte Dunwoody grabbed Low Gros and Low Net honors respectively in Flight A; Joan Jeffs and Helen Williamson did likewise in Flight B, and Barb Birt and Kathy Lennox in Flight C.