Skip to content

It’s official: Doug O’Brien is the new mayor of Parksville

O’Brien elected with 2,695 votes
The City of Parksville has confirmed Doug O’Brien was elected mayor. He will be joined by five new councillors and one incumbent. (PQB News file photo)

The City of Parksville has released the official results for the Oct. 15 municipal election.

The results confirm Doug O’Brien was elected to the mayor’s chair, with 2,695 votes, ahead of incumbent Ed Mayne’s 1,225, according to a news release by the city.

Elected to council are Amit Gaur (2,310), Mary Beil (1,954), Sean Wood (1,938), Adam Fras (1,697), Sylvia Martin (1,559) and Joel Grenz (1,530).

The determination of official election results was made by the chief election officer at 3 p.m. on Oct. 18.

“We wish to congratulate the successful candidates and also thank all candidates for your willingness to serve the residents of Parksville by participating in the civic election process,” said Amanda Weeks, chief election officer.

READ MORE: Doug O’Brien elected as new mayor for City of Parksville in 2022

The total number of ballots cast was 4,009, which based on the estimated 11,651 eligible voters, reflects a 34.4 per cent voter turnout. Voter turnout was 43.3 per cent in 2018 and 35.2 per cent in 2014, according to the city.

Documents are available on the City of Parksville’s website.

The 2022-2026 mayor and council will be officially sworn in at the inaugural meeting on Nov. 7 at 1 pm in the Forum of the Parksville Civic and Technology Centre (PCTC).

— NEWS Staff, submitted

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

About the Author: Parksville Qualicum Beach News Staff

Read more