Skip to content

VIJHL’s Oceanside Generals honour players at year-end banquet

Jacob Thomas named team’s MVP, top forward
Oceanside Generals leading scorer Jacob Thomas was named the club’s top forward. He received the award from coaches Max Creighton and Parker Wakaruk. (Generals Facebook photo)

The Save-On-Foods Oceanside Generals recently honoured their players at their year-end banquet, hosted by the Rod & Gun Club Bar & Grill.

Generals coaches and staff presented awards to players who excelled during the Vancouver Island Junior Hockey League season, which ended when they lost in the first round of the playoffs to the Comox Valley Glacier Kings.

Earning this year’s Most Valuable Player honour was veteran forward Jacob Thomas, the heart of the Generals offence, finishing the regular season ranked fifth in the league with 36 goals and 30 assists for 66 points.

The Campbell River product also was also named the team’s top forward. He has been with the Generals in the last four VIJHL seasons.

The top defenceman award was shared by Tyler Pauze and Brady Van Herk. Both players during the regular season were ranked fourth and sixth, respectively, as the VIJHL’s leading defencemen.

READ MORE: Oceanside Generals head coach Dan Lemmon steps down after 6 seasons

Pauze finished the regular season with 16 goals and 29 assists for 45 points while Van Herk had seven goals and 32 assists for 39 points. He also received the Iron Man Award.

The Rookie of the Year Award was presented to Lantzville forward Walty Pedersen. In his first year with the Generals, he placed fourth in the team’s scoring list with 11 goals and 29 assists for 40 points.

Full list of award winners:

• Save on Foods Fan Favourite: Zaya Morro and Walty Pedersen;

• Norm Gould Community: Nathan Hayes;

• Reed Fraser Memorial Most Improved: Hayden Willis;

• Len Fong Memorial Defensive Forward: Brayden Ross and Brady O’Brien;

• Top Defenceman: Brady Van Herk and Tyson Pauze;

• Top Forward: Jacob Thomas;

• Coaches Award: Chase Hobenshield;

• Sportsmanship Award: Tyler Gyori;

• Teammate of the Year: Aidan Cook;

• Iron Man: Tyson Pauze;

• Unsung Hero: Tyler Gyori;

• Rookie of the Year: Walty Pedersen;

• MVP: Jacob Thomas.

Michael Briones

About the Author: Michael Briones

I rejoined the PQB News team in April 2017 from the Comox Valley Echo, having previously covered sports for The NEWS in 1997.
Read more