Skip to content

Ballenas Whalers honour top players from 2022 high school football season

Ryker Sansbury named senior MVP
Ryker Sansbury was named the Whalers Football senior MVP. (PQB News file photo)

The Ballenas Whalers Football program honoured players, coaches and volunteers at the awards ceremony held at the school, Saturday, May 30.

The Whalers reflected on the year that concluded with a successful spring training camp and traditional season-ending jamboree that new head coach Jeremy Conn aims to use the experience in building the 2022-23 team.

This year’s senior Most Valuable Player award was presented to Ryker Sansbury, who excelled not only in the quarterback position but also as a free safety. Sansbury was also selected to the BC high school top prospects game along with fellow Whalers Ayden Chambers, Kooper Chambers and Gage Dlerma.

READ MORE: Ballenas Whalers football star Agostini named to prestigious CFC Prospect Game

The Whalers outstanding lineman Enzo Agostini was presented the Ragnar Award for his work ethic that earned him the MVP in defence in the Coastal AA Conference in BC High School Football and also selection to the prestigious 2022 CFL Prospects Game. He played for Team Dunnigan in a match against Team Sanchez that was televised in TSN on May 27.

In the junior ranks, Mark Filko was voted as 2021’s MVP.

The other awards recipients are:


Inspirational – Anthony Poelzer

Outstanding O-line – Will Dubesky

Outstanding D-line – Jonah Anderson

Weight room – Ryker Sansbury

Most Improved – Cole Chislett

Sportsmanlike – Brayden Harvey

Leadership – Kooper Chambers

Outstanding Defensive Back – Avery Swanson

Outstanding Linebacker – Reme Conway

Special Teams - Gage D’Lerma

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter 

Outstanding Back – Ayden Chambers

Outstanding Receiver – Kyle Kearns

Scholar Athlete – Will Dubesky and Enzo Agositini (tie)

Ragnar Award – Enzo Agostini


Inspirational – Keenan Baldwin

Outstanding Lineman – Grant Bell

Most Improved – Brendan Dubesky

Leadership – Ajay Storey

Outstanding def. back – Cole Reid

Special teams – Jackson Miller

Outstanding Back/Receiver – Damon Stone

Scholar Athlete - Rohan Barlow

Ragnar Award – Rohan Barlow

Most Enthusiastic Mom Award – Sherri Pearson

Papa Joe Award – The Geiger Family (Brian, Debbie and Gage)

Sean Hines Award – Dan Smith

Michael Briones

About the Author: Michael Briones

I rejoined the PQB News team in April 2017 from the Comox Valley Echo, having previously covered sports for The NEWS in 1997.
Read more