Elizabeth Marsland photo Eaglecrest Ladies Golf Club award winners: 2018 Champion Kathy Hiebert (centre), Low Net Champion Georgie Higgins (second left), and Flight winners (from left) Michelle Kraeling, Lois Kaye, and Lesley Randle

Eaglecrest Ladies Golf celebrates season’s winners

The final game of the season for the Eaglecrest Ladies Golf Club was a competition for team putts and it inevitably brought comments about missed shots that on any other day of the week would have dropped in the hole.

Consequently the song that preceded the awards ceremony was very well-received. Member Wendy Paulsen’s own version of “Never on Sunday,” lamented the many ways in which one’s golf game can be so successful any other day of the week, but “Never on a Tuesday,” because “that is Ladies Day.”

The winning team of Dale Marshall, Marie Monaghan, Judy Reid and Irene Creally, had a total of 89 putts over 13 holes.

The outgoing captain, Jacque Bater, then presented the annual trophies and other awards. This year’s club champion is Kathy Hiebert, with Georgie Higgins low net champion. In the championship competition, the handicap grouping winners, gross and net respectively, were Flight A, Lois Kaye and Sylvia Blasby; Flight B, Michelle Kraeling and Karen Carignan; and Flight C, Lesley Randle and Barbara Holton.

The trophies for the first competition of the season, the Marl Cup (for players under 70) and the Anne Sharpe Trophy (for the rest), went respectively to Kathy Hiebert with Kathy Scott as runner-up, and Blasby with runner-up Higgins. Winners of the Lorraine Riva eclectic contest were Division 1, Hiebert, Division 2, Reid, and Division 3, Randle.

In the two match-play competitions, the Aggie Cup (for lower handicaps) went to Barb Pye, with Sonya Miller runner-up and Hiebert taking the consolation round, while the Croquet Cup (for higher handicaps) was won by Randle, followed by Marj Behrman with Kathy Scott as Consolation winner.

The season-long contest for a Golf Association pin was won by Randle, with Marj Behrman runner-up, and the winner of the trophy for the Most Improved Player was Blasby.

So ended another successful season, as Bater welcomed the incoming captain, Kathy Miller.

— Submitted by Elizabeth Marsland on behalf of Eaglecrest Ladies Golf Club

Just Posted

Celebration of life announced for Parksville man who died following reported hit and run

Investigation still underway following death of Spencer Alexander Moore

Mushroom festival returns to Coombs

Displays, talks, mushroom identification and more

ELECTION 2019: NDP’s Gord Johns re-elected in Courtenay-Alberni

Conservative Byron Horner finishes second, with Green Party’s Sean Wood third

Trudeau has won the most seats — but not a majority. What happens next?

Trudeau will have to deal with some of the implications of Monday’s result

Raptors Bling: NBA champions receive their rings in pre-game ceremony

There are over 650 diamonds — at a weight of 14 carats — in the 14-karat yellow gold ring

Faster response may have prevented fatal outcome at B.C. trampoline park

Coroner’s report rules Greater Victoria father Jay Greenwood’s death accidental

Girl approached by stranger at Nanaimo elementary school playground

Brechin Elementary School principal sends letter to parents after Oct. 22 incident

100-pound pumpkin stolen a second time from B.C. business

According to security footage, a man and woman took the pumpkin on Oct. 20 at 8:20 p.m.

Greta Thunberg declines invitation to Victoria due to time, not ferry emissions

Thunberg confirmed that she will be joining a climate strike at the Vancouver Art Gallery on Friday

‘Havoc and chaos:’ Alberta separatist group gains support as Liberals re-elected

The idea is getting interest from people in Saskatchewan, Manitoba and parts of British Columbia

Feds finally decriminalizing drugs possible – but it’s up to Jagmeet Singh, expert says

National pharmacare was one of Singh’s most highly-touted platform policies

In the news: Wexit, Brexit and Trump sparks outrage

There’s been a surge of support for an Alberta separatist group

Most Read