Skip to content

Oceanside Icebreakers perfect at Remembrance Day hockey tournament

U11 team finishes first to bring home gold medals
The Oceanside Icebreakers celebrate their gold medal win at the Remembrance Day Female Face-off hockey tourney held in Sooke. (Facebook photo)

The U11 Oceanside Icebreakers cruised to a gold medal at the Remembrance Day Female Face-off Tournament held in Sooke, Nov. 11 to Nov. 13.

The Icebreakers reigned supreme with a perfect 5-0 record, scoring more than 40 goals throughout the tournament hosted by the Capital Regional Female Minor Hockey Association.

There were eight teams that competed: Chilliwack Warriors, Powell River Queens, Meadow Ridge Barracudas,Victoria Reign Storm, Victoria Reign Oreos, Victoria Reign Whitesnakes, Victoria Reign On Fire and the Icebreakers.

READ MORE: Rivalry renewed in B.C. as Canada falls to USA in women’s hockey action

En route to the finals, the Icebreakers stopped Chilliwack Warriors 7-0, Victoria Reign Oreos 7-0, and Victoria Reign Storm 9-3. They beat the Victoria Reign Whitesnakes 8-1 in the semi-finals to secure a berth in the finals.

In the gold-medal game, the Icebreakers brought down the Powell River Queens 9-2 to finish first.

“They truly showed what its looks like to work as a team and play for each other,” said head coach Payton Carter. “Outstanding performance by the Icebreakers defence and plenty of goals from each of the forward lines. Our goalies had some big saves right when we needed them and every single girl contributed to the teams success this weekend.”

The Icebreakers consist of Adelle Youngberg, Adrina Kerr, Ashlynn Williams, Aurora Jones, Ayla Dukeshire, Luca Martini, Lyrah Cota, Macy Benoit, Madilynn Erickson, Madison Almond, Marina Descoteau, Morgan Almond, Myah Youngberg, Natalie Hendriks, Olivia Cowan, Rylee Fawcett, Sadie Fink and Savannah Smith.

Assistant coaches are Devin Dukeshire, Jordy Almond and Lauryn Mowat.

— NEWS Staff

Like Us

Michael Briones

About the Author: Michael Briones

I rejoined the PQB News team in April 2017 from the Comox Valley Echo, having previously covered sports for The NEWS in 1997.
Read more